Guest Registration

Enable guest registration as part of your Charge payment forms and allow guests to quickly create their accounts as part of the payment process.

You can pair Guest Registration along with all the other Charge features like Subscriptions to create seamless membership sites.

Upgrade to Pro Guest Registrations are a pro only feature. If you're using the free edition you'll need to upgrade to pro to use them

How it Works #

Guest Registration must first be enabled from the Charge > Settings > Guest Registration area.

When enabled you'll see a few options related to how we should handle a guest's registration. Guest registration only ever affects users who are not logged in at the time of the payment attempt. You can safely enable the feature to work along side any existing members you may have on the site.

Options #

Registration Behaviour #

Guest Registration has 3 possible behaviour modes.

  • Always creates an account for all guest payments.
  • Yes, by default creates an account for guest payments, unless createAccount == 'no' is passed in the form.
  • No, by default does not create an account for guest payments, unless createAccount == 'yes' is passed in the form.

If you want to have all your guests registered when they make a payment, select the Always option.

Otherwise, if you want to let your users pick if they want to join the site, the other two Yes and No options let your visitors pick if they get an account.

In both cases, you'd need to include a new input in your payment form called createAccount, and then by passing yes or no in that input the visitor can pick their behaviour. If no value is passed, Charge will default to the chosen default behaviour.

End of Life Behaviour #

In addition to the initial guest registration flow, Charge can also handle extra triggers when the related payment fails or ends.

This is primarily useful for recurring payments where you want the user's account to be suspended or deleted when the recurring payment ends or is cancelled. This pairs especially well with the user side self-management options for recurring payments.

There are 3 possible options for this:

  • Do Nothing when user's end of life is triggered we'll make no changes.
  • Suspend Account moves the user's account to a suspended state.
  • Delete Account deletes the user's account and associated content.

What triggers the end-of-life?

The end-of-life behaviour is triggered from the following actions:

  • A recurring payment ends. This can be done from the CP or front-end by the user.
  • A charge is deleted. This can only be done from the CP.

This only affects guests registered by Charge We'll only trigger our end of life behaviour if the user account was registered as part of a Charge request. If they registered separately, we'll not make any change to their account regardless of these settings.